The Normandy landing beaches

+ SAINT MALO, + WORLD WAR II LANDINGS, + LOIRE VALLEY'S CHATEAU COUNTRY

VISITE GUIDEE PLAGES DU DEBARQUEMENT
Hotels-deauville-trouville.com propose une série de circuits avec guide, sur les plages du débarquement. Départs de Paris, Caen, Bayeux et du Havre. Faîtes votre choix, réserver en ligne en toute sécurité, chez notre partenaire n° 1 mondial de l'excursion. 

> NORMANDY & LOIRE VALLEY - 868 US DOLLARS

> NORMANDY & LOIRE VALLEY - 868 US DOLLARS

> ST MALO & MONT SAINT-MICHEL - 423 US DOLLARS

> NORMANDIE & LOIRE VALLEY- 659 US DOLLARS

> MONT ST-MICHEL FROM PARIS - 182 US DOLLARS

> NORMANDY & LOIRE VALLEY - 868 US DOLLARS

The main museums and landing sites

les sites et musées du débarquement en Normandie
The Normandy landings (Operation Neptune codename), Allied troops in June 1944 is an amphibious military operation in the framework of World War II. It precedes the Battle of Normandy. 
This is the assault phase of Operation Overlord, which aims to create a large-scale Allied bridgehead in the northwest of Europe and the opening of a new front in the West.
This included many movements:
  • The Channel crossing by thousands of ships.
  • The American and British airborne operations last night.
  • The preparatory air and naval bombardment of the German coastal defenses.
  • The landing of troops on the beaches (west to east) Utah Beach and Omaha Beach (over the capture of the Pointe du Hoc) for Americans and Gold Beach, Juno Beach and Sword Beach Canadians to Anglo Canadians (including the Free French of the Kieffer commandos).
Discover below the main museums, cemeteries and sites dedicated to one of the greatest events in history.

BATTERIE DE MAISY

Built from 1942, the entire site was part of a militarized area of 44 ha. Covering part of the sectors 
Landing on June 6, 1944, she opened fire on allied troops, and for three days. 
You can visit these underground structures, locations of six pieces of artillery, 155 mm, tunnels and many other constructions.There are more than 2 km of restored trenches that offer the ability to move as did, at the time, advocates of this stronghold. You can also find guns that were installed on the site.


Maisy Battery 
Route Wigs 
14450 GRANDCAMP-MAISY

 CIMETIERE MILITAIRE ALLEMAND 

CIMETIERE MILITAIRE ALLEMAND

La Cambe is the largest military cemetery in Normandy. 
Nearly 21,222 bodies rest under small slabs.


German military cemetery 
14230 LA CAMBE

AMERICAN CEMETERY OMAHA

CIMETIERE AMERICAIN D'OMAHA

Inaugurated in 1956, the Normandy American cemetery was built in the heart of a vast area of 70 hectares granted by France to the United States. A Garden of the Missing where 1557 soldiers names remain etched, the American cemetery invites meditation and remembrance. The graves are mostly those of fallen soldiers on Omaha Beach June 6, 1944.


American Cemetery in Normandy 
14710 COLLEVILLE-SUR-MER

LA POINTE DU HOC

LA POINTE DU HOC

The Pointe du Hoc site now features the remains of German artillery battery and deep scars and the extreme conditions in which the Rangers climbed the cliffs under fire from German soldiers.


Pointe du Hoc 
CRICQUEVILLE 14450-EN-BESSIN

DDAY OMAHA MUSEUM

The museum D-Day Omaha presents, indoors and inside, a collection of parts and equipment tracing the technological evolution of forces in wartime. It is divided into several areas: German equipment, allied equipment, space dedicated to the Resistance...


Museum D-Day Omaha 
Route de Grandcamp 
14,710 VIERVILLE 

BIG RED ONE ASSAULT MUSEUM

BIG RED ONE ASSAULT MUSEUM

After Operation Torch in North Africa, the US 1st Infantry Division of the US Army fought the Afrika Korps of Rommel, and then took part in the landing in Sicily. It is found in Omaha Beach June 6, 1944, she suffered very heavy losses. At the end of the war in 1945, it will have lost more than 21,000 men.


Big Red One Assault Musuem 
the Bray
COLLEVILLE SUR MER 14710 

OVERLORD MUSEUM

OVERLORD MUSEUM

This unique collection of its kind with over 10,000 pieces that trace much of the history of the Battle of Normandy to the liberation of Paris. A human dimension through the stories, testimonies and objects veterans and people of the time.


Overlord Museum - Omaha Beach 
Center Omaha subdivision 
COLLEVILLE SUR MER 14710

MEMORIAL CEMETERY AND COMMONWEALTH 

MÉMORIAL ET CIMETIÈRE DU COMMONWEALTH

The cemetery includes 4116 Commonwealth graves and graves of other nationalities 532 German majority. The memorial opposite carries the names of 1801 men of the land forces of the Commonwealth disappeared. 
Gathered the remains of 3,935 British soldiers, but also those of 181 Canadians, 17 Australians, New Zealanders 8, 1 South African, 25 Poles, three French, two Czechs, two Italians, Russians 7, 466 Germans.


Memorial and Cemetery Commonwealth 
Boulevard du 6 Juin 
14400 BAYEUX

MEMORIAL MUSEUM OF THE BATTLE OF NORMANDY

The Memorial Museum of the Battle of Normandy deals in the most comprehensive way, military events following the landing immediately. It shows take place there, after a brief presentation of the strategic situation before 
landing, events during this battle (June 7 to August 29, 1944), using narratives illustrated with original maps and 3D models.
Memorial Museum of the Battle of Normandy.

Boulevard Fabian Ware 
14400 BAYEUX

MUSEE DES EPAVES SOUS MARINES DU DEBARQUEMENT

The museum traces 25 years of diving operation that allowed Jacques Lemonchois, its founder, to go up the bottom of the incredible sea remains preserved in their état.Les presented objects are authentic, they were found in 
large warships sunk in the vicinity of 6 June 1944, on the Utah site, Omaha, Gold, Juno and Sword.
An original 52-minute film presents the underwater wrecks Landing in French and English.

Museum of underwater wrecks 
Landing 
Route de bayeux
14520 COMMES - PORT-EN-BESSIN

BATTERIE ALLEMANDE DE LONGUES SUR MER

BATTERIE ALLEMANDE DE LONGUES SUR MER

Longues-sur-Mer is the only coastal defense battery classified "historical monument".major work of the Atlantic Wall, it is also the only battery that is still equipped with its antique guns.

MUSEE DU DEBARQUEMENT

MUSEE DU DEBARQUEMENT

Built at the same place where was built the British artificial port which you can still see the remains of Port Winston, visible from the museum, demonstrate the exceptional scope of this operation. The museum tells the story of the construction and operation of the port, key to the Allied victory.


Landing Museum 
Place June 6 
14117 ARROMANCHES LES BAINS
.

CIMETIÈRE BRITANNIQUE DE BAZENVILLE

Cemetery Bazenville was opened two days after the landing, in the area of Gold Beach, where the 50th British Division landed on June 6, 1944. 979 tombs house the bodies of 630 British, 21 Canadians, 1 Australian, 1 Pole and 326 Germans.


Cemetery Bazenville 
BAZENVILLE
.

CINEMA CIRCULAIRE ARROMANCHES 360

The new film "100 Days of Normandy" was funded by the Lower Normandy Region on an idea of Caen. 
It traces on 9 screens 100 days of the battle and brings together mostly unpublished archives from Canadian funds, American, German, English and French. The film also pays tribute to Robert Capa presenting its famous 11 photos.


circular cinema Arromanches 360 Route du calvaire

14117 ARROMANCHES

CENTRE JUNO BEACH

CENTRE JUNO BEACH

On the beach where the Canadians landed in June 1944 alongside other allied forces, the Juno Beach Centre presents the role played by Canada in the Second World War, particularly in Normandy. He is the only Canadian museum on the Landing Beaches.


Juno Beach Centre 
14470 COURSEULES SUR MER

THE CANADIAN CEMETERY REVIERS 

The Reviers Canadian cemetery contains 2049 graves, including 2044 Canadian, British and French 4. 
Essentially, it is men who fell during the landing in Juno Beach sector or during the siege of Caen.


The Canadian cemetery Reviers 
14470 REVIERS

MUSEE RADAR DE DOUVRES

Located in the former German town of Dover-la-Délivrande, this museum presents the essential role of radar during the Second World War that contributed to Allied success, especially in England and the battles of the Atlantic. The station was one of the most important links in long and medium range of the electromagnetic detection Atlantic Wall in France.


Radar Museum Douvres-la-Délivrande 
Route de Basly
14440 DOUVRES-LA-DELIVRANDE

LE CIMETIÈRE BRITANNIQUE DE DOUVRES-LA-DÉLIVRANDE

At the cemetery Douvres based, besides 927 British soldiers, 11 Canadians, 3 Australians, 1 Polish, 1 unidentified bodies and 180 Germans buried in a particular square. The graves are those of men fell from 6 June and in the following days.


The British cemetery in Douvres-la-Délivrande 
14440 DOUVRES-LA-DELIVRANDE

MEMORIAL DE CAEN

MEMORIAL DE CAEN

1944-2014: 70 years of history at the Caen Memorial. 
Origins of the Second World War at the end of the Cold War, the museum trail recount and explain what was the terrible history of the twentieth century. Caen, bombed in the summer of 1944, martyr city of liberation, indeed deserved such a tribute is paid to him. 
The spirit of reconciliation own at the Caen Memorial, accompanies the visitor throughout the visit.


The Caen Memorial 
Esplanade Eisenhower 
14050 CAEN

MUSEE DU MUR DE L'ATLANTIQUE

MUSEE DU MUR DE L'ATLANTIQUE

Located steps from the beach in Ouistreham 5, Museum of the Atlantic Wall is installed inside the former headquarters of the German army who commanded the battery of the estuary of the River Orne. You will also see a real assault barge restored and used for the purposes of the Spielberg film "Saving Private Ryan."


The Grand Bunker 
Museum of the Atlantic Wall 
Avenue du 6 Juin
14150 OUISTREHAM

MEMORIAL PEGASUS

MEMORIAL PEGASUS

The Memorial Pegasus presents the various missions that the 6th Division 
British Airborne had to perform on the night of June 5 to 6 These soldiers were the first to set foot on Normandy soil for Operation Overlord. One of their mission was the capture of Bénouville bridge more known as Pegasus Bridge.


Pegasus Memorial 
Avenue du Major Howard 
14860 RANVILLE

BRITISH CEMETERY RANVILLE 

Cemetery Banneville together the graves of 2,150 Britons, 11 Canadians, 5 Australians, 2 New Zealanders, 5 Poles and those of two unidentified bodies; totaling 2,175 graves. Essentially, it is men who fell in July 1944, during the liberation of Caen and Operation Goodwood initiated in the plain to the east of the city. Y were also buried the remains of soldiers then fell until the end of the battle of the Pocket Falaise.

BRITISH CEMETERY BANNEVILLE 

Located near the historic site of Pegasus Bridge, Ranville cemetery gathers tombs in 2564: those QE2 154 Britons, 76 Canadians, three New Zealanders, one Australian, one Belgian and two unidentified bodies and 322 German graves. 
Part of soldiers based here belonged to the 6th British Airborne Division who jumped between the Orne and Dives on the night of June 5 to 6, 1944.


The British cemetery in Ranville 
14860 RANVILLE

MUSEE DE LA BATTERIE DE FRANCEVILLE

MUSEE DE LA BATTERIE DE FRANCEVILLE

Set on several hectares between Ouistreham and Cabourg, the site of 
the Merville battery is fully preserved today. We discover four bunkers and the legendary Dakota C47.


Museum of Merville Battery 
Place the 9th Battalion 
14810 MERVILLE-FRANCEVILLE

LES BATTERIES DU MONT CANISY

A Bennerville rises to 110 m, Mont Canisy. It overlooks the Seine bay. An artillery of the French Navy will be operational in 1940. Aware of the advantage of this strategic position, the Germans installed a new battery and composed of six French 155mm guns in encuvements. In 1944 two British battleships and Allied aircraft 
had dedicated neutralize coastal batteries of the Côte Fleurie and especially the Mont Canisy. 
The Germans avaientt realized a network of underground tunnels more than 250 meters long and 15 meters underground and built in surface of many concrete works.

Hotel search in Normandy

The sites and museums of the Normandy landings

Les plages du débarquement en Normandie

EXCURSIONS PRIVEES D'UNE JOURNEE OU DEUX - LES PRINCIPAUX SITES

VISITE GUIDEE PLAGES DU DEBARQUEMENT
Hotels-deauville-trouville.com propose une série de circuits avec guide, sur les plages du débarquement. Départs de Paris, Caen, Bayeux et du Havre. Faîtes votre choix, réserver en ligne en toute sécurité, chez notre partenaire n° 1 mondial de l'excursion. 

> AU DEPART DE BAYEUX A PARTIR DE 95 €UROS

> AU DEPART DU HAVRE A PARTIR DE 108 €UROS

> AU DEPART DE CAEN A PARTIR DE 123 €UROS

> AU DEPART DE PARIS A PARTIR DE 395 €UROS

> AU DEPART DE CAEN A PARTIR DE 469 €UROS

> AU DEPART DE BAYEUX A PARTIR DE 500 €UROS

 Les principaux musées et sites du débarquement

les sites et musées du débarquement en Normandie
Le débarquement en Normandie, (nom de code opération Neptune), des troupes alliées en juin 1944 est une opération militaire amphibie dans le cadre de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il précède la bataille de Normandie.
C'est la phase d'assaut de l'opération Overlord qui vise à créer une tête de pont alliée de grande échelle dans le nord-ouest de l'Europe et l'ouverture d'un nouveau front à l'Ouest.

Cette opération incluait de nombreux mouvements :

  • La traversée de la Manche par plusieurs milliers de navires. 
  • Les opérations aéroportées américaine et britannique la nuit précédente.
  • Les bombardements préparatoires aériens et navals des défenses côtières allemandes.
  • Le débarquement des troupes sur les plages (d'Ouest en Est) d'Utah Beach et Omaha Beach (plus la prise de la pointe du Hoc) pour les Américains et Gold Beach, Juno Beach pour les Canadiens et Sword Beach pour les Anglo-Canadiens (incluant les Français libres des commandos Kieffer).

Découvrez ci-dessous les principaux musées, cimetières et sites dédiés à l'un des plus grands événements de l'Histoire.

BATTERIE DE MAISY

Construit à partir de 1942, l’ensemble de ce site faisait partie d’une zone militarisée de 44 ha. Couvrant une partie des secteurs du
Débarquement, le 6 juin 1944, elle ouvre le feu sur les troupes alliées, et ce, pendant trois jours.
Vous pouvez visiter ces constructions souterraines, emplacements de six pièces d’artillerie de 155 mm, tunnels et beaucoup d’autres constructions. Il existe plus de 2 km de tranchées restaurées qui offrent la possibilité de se déplacer comme le faisaient, à l’époque, les défenseurs de cette place forte. Vous pouvez également découvrir des canons qui ont été installés sur le site.

Batterie de Maisy
Route des Perruques
14450 GRANDCAMP-MAISY

CIMETIERE MILITAIRE ALLEMAND

CIMETIERE MILITAIRE ALLEMAND
La Cambe est le plus grand cimetière militaire de Basse-Normandie.
Près de 21222 corps reposent sous de petites dalles.

Cimetière militaire allemand
14230 LA CAMBE

CIMETIERE AMERICAIN D'OMAHA

CIMETIERE AMERICAIN D'OMAHA
Inauguré en 1956, le Normandy american cemetery a été édifié au coeur d’un vaste espace de 70 hectares concédé par la France aux Etats-Unis. Un Jardin des Disparus où demeurent gravés les noms de 1 557 soldats, le cimetière américain invite à la méditation et au souvenir. Les sépultures sont majoritairement celles de soldats tombés sur Omaha Beach le 6 juin 1944.

Cimetière Américain de Normandie 
14710 COLLEVILLE-SUR-MER

LA POINTE DU HOC

LA POINTE DU HOC
Le site de la Pointe du Hoc présente aujourd’hui les vestiges de la batterie d’artillerie allemande ainsi que des traces profondes et les conditions extrêmes dans lesquelles les Rangers ont gravi la falaise sous les tirs des soldats allemands.

Pointe du Hoc
14450 CRICQUEVILLE-EN-BESSIN

MUSEE DDAY OMAHA

Le musée D-Day Omaha présente, en intérieur et en intérieur, une collection de pièces et de matériel retraçant l'évolution technologique des forces en présence en temps de guerre. Il est divisé en plusieurs espaces : matériel allemand, matériel allié, espace dédié à la Résistance...

Musée D-Day Omaha
Route de Grandcamp
14 710 VIERVILLE SUR MER

BIG RED ONE ASSAULT MUSEUM

BIG RED ONE ASSAULT MUSEUM
Après l'opération Torch en Afrique du Nord, La 1ère division d'infanterie américaine de l'US Army  combattit l'Afrika Korps de Rommel, puis prit part au débarquement en Sicile. On la retrouve à Omaha Beach le 6 juin 1944, où elle subit de très lourdes pertes. A la fin de la guerre, en 1945, elle aura perdu plus de 21 000 hommes.

Big Red One Assault Musuem
Le Bray
14710 COLLEVILLE SUR MER

OVERLORD MUSEUM

OVERLORD MUSEUM
Cette collection unique en son genre compte plus de 10 000 pièces qui retracent en grande partie l’histoire de la Bataille de Normandie jusqu’à la libération de Paris. Une dimension humaine grâce aux récits, témoignages, et objets des vétérans et personnes de l’époque.

Overlord Museum - Omaha Beach
Lotissement Omaha Center
14710 COLLEVILLE SUR MER

MÉMORIAL ET CIMETIÈRE DU COMMONWEALTH

MÉMORIAL ET CIMETIÈRE DU COMMONWEALTH
Le cimetière regroupe 4116 tombes du Commonwealth et 532 tombes d’autres nationalités en majorité allemande. Le mémorial situé en face porte les noms de 1801 hommes des forces terrestres du Commonwealth disparus.
Sont rassemblées les dépouilles de 3935 soldats britanniques, mais aussi celles de 181 Canadiens, 17 Australiens, 8 Néo-Zélandais, 1 Sud-Africain, 25 Polonais, 3 Français, 2 Tchèques, 2 Italiens, 7 Russes, 466 Allemands.

Mémorial et cimetière du Commonwealth
Boulevard du 6 Juin 
14400 BAYEUX

MUSEE MEMORIAL DE LA BATAILLE DE NORMANDIE

Le Musée Mémorial de la Bataille de Normandie traite de la manière la plus globale possible, des événements militaires ayant suivi immédiatement le Débarquement. On y voit s’y dérouler, après une brève présentation de la situation stratégique d’avant le
débarquement, les événements survenus au cours de cette bataille(du 7 juin au 29 août 1944), à l’aide de textes explicatifs illustrés, de cartes originales et maquettes en 3D.

Musée Mémorial de la Bataille de Normandie 
Boulevard Fabian Ware
14400 BAYEUX

MUSEE DES EPAVES SOUS MARINES DU DEBARQUEMENT

Le musée retrace 25 années d’exploitation sous-marine qui ont permis à Jacques Lemonchois, son fondateur, de remonter du fond de la mer d’incroyables vestiges conservés dans leur état.Les objets présentés sont authentiques, ils ont été trouvés dans les
grands navires de guerre coulés aux environs du 6 juin 1944, sur les sites d’Utah, Omaha, Gold, Juno et Sword.
Un film inédit de 52 minutes présente les épaves sous-marines du Débarquement en version française et anglaise.

Musée des Epaves sous-marines
du Débarquement
Route de Bayeux - BP9
14520 COMMES - PORT-EN-BESSIN

BATTERIE ALLEMANDE DE LONGUES SUR MER

BATTERIE ALLEMANDE DE LONGUES SUR MER
Longues-sur-Mer est la seule batterie de défense côtière classée "Monument historique". Ouvrage majeur du Mur de l’Atlantique, elle est aussi la seule batterie qui soit encore équipée de ses canons d’époque.

LONGUES SUR MER

MUSEE DU DEBARQUEMENT

MUSEE DU DEBARQUEMENT
Edifié à l’endroit même où fut construit le port artificiel britannique dont on peut encore voir les vestiges du Port Winston, visibles depuis le musée, témoignent de l’envergure exceptionnelle de cette opération. Le musée relate l’histoire de la construction et l’exploitation de ce port, clé de la victoire des Alliés.

Musée du Débarquement
Place du 6 juin
14117 ARROMANCHES-LES-BAINS

CIMETIÈRE BRITANNIQUE DE BAZENVILLE

Le cimetière de Bazenville a été ouvert deux jours après le Débarquement, dans la zone de Gold Beach où la 50ème division britannique débarqua le 6 juin 1944. 979 tombes, abritent les corps de 630 Britanniques, 21 Canadiens, 1 Australien, 1 Polonais et 326 Allemands.

Cimetière Britannique de Bazenville
BAZENVILLE

CINEMA CIRCULAIRE ARROMANCHES 360

Le nouveau film "Les 100 jours de Normandie" a été financé par la Région Basse-Normandie sur une idée du Mémorial de Caen.
Il retrace sur 9 écrans les 100 jours de la Bataille et réunit des archives pour la plupart inédites provenant de fonds canadiens, américains, allemands, anglais et français. Le film rend également un hommage à Robert Capa en présentant ses célèbres 11 photos.

Cinéma circulaire Arromanches 360
Chemin du Calvaire
14117 ARROMANCHES

CENTRE JUNO BEACH

CENTRE JUNO BEACH
Sur la plage où les Canadiens ont débarqué en juin 1944 aux côtés des autres forces alliées, le Centre Juno Beach présente le rôle joué par le Canada pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, notamment en Normandie. Il est le seul musée canadien sur les plages du Débarquement.

Centre Juno Beach
Voie des Français Libres - BP 104
14470 COURSEULLES-SUR-MER

LE CIMETIÈRE CANADIEN DE REVIERS

Le cimetière canadien de Reviers comporte 2049 tombes, dont 2044 canadiennes, 4 britanniques et une française.
Pour l’essentiel, il s’agit d’hommes tombés lors du Débarquement dans le secteur de Juno Beach ou pendant le siège de Caen.

Le cimetière canadien de Reviers
14470 REVIERS

MUSEE RADAR DE DOUVRES

Situé dans l’ancienne station allemande de Douvres-la-Délivrande, ce musée présente le rôle essentiel du radar pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale qui a contribué aux succès alliés, en particulier dans les batailles d’Angleterre et de l’Atlantique. La station a constitué l’un des plus importants maillons de détection électromagnétique à longue et moyenne portée du Mur de l’Atlantique en France.

Musée Radar de Douvres-la-Délivrande
Route de Basly
14440 DOUVRES-LA-DELIVRANDE

LE CIMETIÈRE BRITANNIQUE DE DOUVRES-LA-DÉLIVRANDE

Au cimetière de Douvres reposent, outre 927 soldats britanniques, 11 Canadiens, 3 Australiens, 1 Polonais, 1 corps non identifié et 180 Allemands inhumés dans un carré particulier. Les sépultures sont celles d’hommes tombés dès le 6 juin et dans les jours suivants.

Le cimetière britannique de Douvres-la-Délivrande
14440 DOUVRES-LA-DELIVRANDE

MEMORIAL DE CAEN

MEMORIAL DE CAEN
1944-2014 : 70 ans d’histoire au Mémorial de Caen.
Des origines de la Seconde Guerre mondiale à la fin de la guerre froide, les parcours muséographiques racontent et expliquent ce que fut la terrible histoire du XXème siècle. Caen, bombardée lors de l’été 1944, ville martyre de la libération, méritait en effet qu’un tel hommage lui soit rendu.
L'esprit de réconciliation propre au Mémorial de Caen, accompagne le visiteur tout au long des visites.

Le Mémorial de Caen
Esplanade Eisenhower
14050 CAEN

MUSEE DU MUR DE L'ATLANTIQUE

MUSEE DU MUR DE L'ATLANTIQUE
Situé à quelques pas de la plage de Ouistreham à 5, le musée du Mur de l’Atlantique est installé à l’intérieur de l’ancien quartier général de l’armée allemande qui commandait les batteries de l’estuaire de l’Orne. Vous y verrez également une véritable barge d’assaut restaurée et utilisée pour les besoins du film de spielberg "Il faut sauver le soldat Ryan".

Le Grand Bunker
Musée du Mur de l’Atlantique
Avenue du 6 Juin
14150 OUISTREHAM

MEMORIAL PEGASUS

MEMORIAL PEGASUS
Le Mémorial Pegasus présente les différentes missions que la 6ème Division
aéroportée britannique devait accomplir dans la nuit du 5 au 6 juin. Ces soldats furent les premiers à poser pied sur le sol de Normandie pour l’opération Overlord. Une de leur mission fut la prise du pont de Bénouville plus connu sous le nom de Pegasus Bridge.

Mémorial Pegasus
Avenue du Major Howard
14860 RANVILLE

LE CIMETIÈRE BRITANNIQUE DE RANVILLE

Le cimetière de Banneville rassemble les tombes de 2150 Britanniques, 11 Canadiens, 5 Australiens, 2 Néo-Zélandais, 5 Polonais et celles de deux corps non identifiés ; soit au total 2175 sépultures. Pour l’essentiel, il s’agit d’hommes tombés en juillet 1944, lors de la libération de Caen et de l’opération Goodwood lancée dans la plaine à l’Est de la ville. Y ont été également inhumées les dépouilles de soldats tombés ensuite, jusqu’à la fin de la bataille de la Poche de Falaise.

LE CIMETIÈRE BRITANNIQUE DE BANNEVILLE

Situé près du site historique de Pegasus bridge, le cimetière de Ranville rassemble 2564 tombes : celles de2 154 Britanniques, 76 Canadiens, 3 Néo-Zélandais, 1 Australien, 1 Belge et de 2 corps non identifiés, ainsi que 322 sépultures allemandes.
Une partie des soldats reposant ici appartenaient à la 6ème division aéroportée britannique qui sauta entre l’Orne et la Dives dans la nuit du 5 au 6 juin 1944.

Le cimetière britannique de Ranville
14860 RANVILLE

MUSEE DE LA BATTERIE DE FRANCEVILLE

MUSEE DE LA BATTERIE DE FRANCEVILLE
Situé sur plusieurs hectares, entre Ouistreham et Cabourg, le site de
la batterie de Merville est aujourd’hui entièrement préservé. On y découvre quatre bunkers et le mythique Dakota C47.

Musée de La Batterie de Merville
Place du 9ème Bataillon
14810 MERVILLE-FRANCEVILLE

LES BATTERIES DU MONT CANISY

A Bennerville culmine à 110 m, le Mont Canisy. Il domine la baie de Seine. Une batterie d’artillerie côtière de la Marine Française y sera opérationnelle en 1940. Conscients de l'intérêt de cette position stratégique, les Allemands installèrent une nouvelle et batterie composée de six canons français de 155 mm en encuvements. En1944 deux cuirassés britanniques et l’aviation alliée
eurent pour mission la neutralisation des batteries côtières de la Côte Fleurie et tout particulièrement celle du Mont Canisy. 
Les Allemands avaientt réalisé un réseau de galeries souterraines de plus de 250 m de long à 15 m sous terre, et construit en
surface de nombreux ouvrages bétonnés .

Recherchez votre Hôtel en Normandie

Les sites et musées du débarquement de Normandie