Dives sur mer, between land and sea

A village with a rich history

Place de Dives sur mer

Dives sur mer does not have the popularity of Cabourg, yet the village has a few old historical wonders over 600 years:

  • The halls of Dives and impressive structure hosting the market every Saturday morning. You will find local produce, and enjoy a warm, authentic atmosphere that characterizes the city.
  • Manor Wood Hibout is a beautiful building made of Caen stone, built in the 17th century by Leduc de la Falaise, Louis XIV's valet.
  • The Village Art Guillaume le conquérant. An old inn renovated by an amateur art collector. Tudor, wood carvings, stone carvings from the 17th and 18th, some from churches and manor houses in the village of art region.The recalls the epic of Guillaume le conquérant.
  • . The church Dives From the Roman Gothique. Quelques parts of the church date from the 11th century: the four pillars of the choir, an arcade and a vault. The church was enlarged in the 14th century in the Gothic style windows rayonnant.Les Angels Musicians and some large glass elements date from this time. The church contains a list of companions of Guillaume le conquérant.

The historic event marking: 
It is from Dives Guillaume le conquérant set sail, with its fleet of 700 to 1,000 ships and 8,000 fighters to conquer England, en1066. A plaque with the names of Guillaume le conquérant's companions affixed to the inside of the church, above its entrance doors.

Port Guillaume (Dives-Cabourg-Houlgate)

The recreational pool has a capacity of 600 places on pontoons and catwalks. 
A mooring area is organized with a shuttle service. 

In 1986 Tréfimétaux closed the factory. French industrial company metallurgy was the economic lung of Dives. Elected officials and the city of Dives sur mer then bounced (brilliantly) the face of adversity, launching the project to build a marina on the plant site, to sweep the past and revive activity economic. Born in 1991, Port Guillaume.

Hotel search in Normandie

Where is Dives sur mer ?

Dives sur mer, entre terre et mer

Un village au riche passé historique

Place de Dives sur mer

Dives sur mer n'a pas la popularité de Cabourg, pourtant le petit village recèle quelques merveilles historiques vieilles de plus de 600 ans :

  • Les halles de Dives et son impressionnante charpente accueillent  le marché chaque samedi matin. Vous y trouverez les produits du terroir, et profiterez d'une atmosphère chaleureuse et authentique qui caractérise la ville.
  • Le manoir de Bois Hibout est une magnifique batisse réalisée en pierre de Caen, construite au 17 ème siècle par Leduc de la Falaise, valet de chambre de Louis XIV. 
  • Le Village d'Art Guillaume-le-Conquérant. Une ancienne auberge rénovée par un collectionneur amateur d'art. Colombages, sculptures sur bois, sculptures sur pierre du 17 ème et 18 ème, certaines provenant d'églises et manoirs de la région.Le village d'art rappelle l'épopée de Guillaume le Conquérant. 
  • L'église de Dives. Du Roman au Gothique.Quelques parties de l'église datent du 11ème siècle : les quatre piliers du chœur, une arcade et une voûte. L'église est agrandie au 14ème siècle, dans le style gothique rayonnant.Les vitraux des Anges Musiciens et quelques éléments de la grande verrière datent de cette époque. L'église abrite une liste des compagnons de Guillaume le Conquérant.


L'épisode historique marquant : 
C'est au départ de Dives que Guillaume le Conquérant appareilla, avec sa flotte de 700 à 1000 navires et ses 8000 combattants pour conquérir l'Angleterre, en1066.
Une plaque commémorative avec la liste des noms des compagnons de Guillaume le Conquérant est apposée à l'intérieur de l'église, au-dessus de ses portes d'entrée.

Port Guillaume (Dives-Cabourg-Houlgate)

Le bassin de plaisance offre une capacité de 600 places sur pontons et catways.
Une zone de mouillages est organisée avec un service de navettes.

En 1986 fermait l'usine Tréfimétaux. La société industrielle française de métallurgie était le principal poumon économique de Dives. Les élus et la ville de Dives sur mer ont alors su rebondir (avec brio)  face à l’adversité, en lançant le projet de construire un port de plaisance sur le site de l'usine, pour balayer le passé et relancer l'activité économique. En 1991 naissait Port Guillaume.

Recherchez votre Hôtel en Normandie

Où se trouve Dives sur mer ?