Cabourg, energetic and popular

<< Belle Époque >> atmosphere

Le grand hôtel de Cabourg

The popular town of Cabourg is popular among tourists for its casino, its promenade, its shopping street, its villas, its festival ...

The buildings of the casino and the Grand Hotel is one of the most consistent beach sets and best preserved of the Belle Epoque. They forget only a few rows of homes incongruous dike edge... 
Cabourg, like other towns, has many beautiful homes. Thus, of the major arteries of the city or in the adjacent streets, one can see beautiful villas, often secondary. 
The first casino of Cabourg is built in 1854. The imposing building is the beginning of a long series of architectural projects, including the variety of materials and styles makes the uniqueness and richness. Thus majestic villas were built from 1856. Nearly 150 houses will be built between 1862 and 1875. The Grand Hotel was built in 1861. It offers a monumental aspect, with its 150 rooms. Then a new Casino, stone this time, was built in 1867. It underwent significant changes between 1896 to 1927. 
Cabourg also owes its success to the dam, which was built in 1887 to defend against storms. First long 1800 meters, Marcel Proust promenade is now the largest in Europe along with 3,6km. It connects the Hôme Varaville Dives on sea.

Romantic Film Festival in Cabourg

estivales de l'hippodrome de Cabourg 2016

The Cabourg Film Festival takes place in Cabourg in June. The festival was created by Gonzague Saint-Bris in 1983. The trophy awarded to the winner is named the Golden Swann, referring to Marcel Proust. 
In the section of the Romantic days, a jury of film world personalities awarded the "Grand Prix of the Cabourg Film Festival" for a unique feature. A jury of the Region of students awarded the "Youth of prices." A jury of film professionals and film lovers, awards prizes for short films

Romantic Film Festival in Cabourg

le festival du film romantique de Cabourg

The Cabourg Film Festival takes place in Cabourg in June. The festival was created by Gonzague Saint-Bris in 1983. The trophy awarded to the winner is named the Golden Swann, referring to Marcel Proust. 
In the section of the Romantic days, a jury of film world personalities awarded the "Grand Prix of the Cabourg Film Festival" for a unique feature. A jury of the Region of students awarded the "Youth of prices." A jury of film professionals and film lovers, awards prizes for short films

Sports and entertainment in Cabourg

Cabourg, les activités sportives
  • Horses racecourse 
  • minigolf 
  • Golf (Cabourg-Le Home) 
  • A sailing club 
  • A yachting club 
  • Swimming pool 
  • Go-karting

Cabourg-Balbec and Proust

Marcel Proust, Cabourg lieu d'inspiration

Cabourg- Balbec, healing earth but also of inspiration for Marcel Proust who left there forever etched its mark. 
It is his severe asthma that led him first to Cabourg. It then spent every summer from 1907 to 1914. The author lodge at the Grand Hotel in a small room with electricity, central heating and soundproofing. 
The Grand Hotel fascinates. He wrote "in the shadow of blossoming girls", where he describes Cabourg as the Balbec.

Hotel search in Normandie

Where is Cabourg ?

Cabourg, énergique et populaire

L'ambiance << Belle Époque >>

Le grand hôtel de Cabourg

La populaire ville de Cabourg est appréçiée des touristes pour son casino, sa promenade, sa rue commerçante, ses villas, son festival...

Les édifices du casino et du Grand-Hôtel constituent l'un des ensembles balnéaires les plus cohérents et les mieux conservés de la Belle Époque. On oubliera seulement quelques rangées de résidences incongrues en bord de digue...
Cabourg, comme d'autres villes proches, présente beaucoup de superbes habitations. Ainsi, sur les grandes artères de la ville ou dans les rues adjacentes, on peut voir de très belles villas, souvent secondaires.
Le premier casino de Cabourg est construit en 1854. L'édifice imposant marque le début d’une longue série de réalisations architecturales, dont la variété des matériaux et des styles en fait la singularité et la richesse. C’est ainsi que de majestueuses villas voient le jour dès 1856. Près de 150 demeures seront érigées entre 1862 et 1875. Le Grand Hôtel est édifié en 1861. Il offre un aspect monumental, avec ses 150 chambres. Puis un nouveau Casino, en pierre cette fois, est construit en 1867. Il subit d'importantes transformations entre 1896 à 1927. 
Cabourg doit également son succès à la digue qui fût construite en 1887 afin d’assurer une défense contre les tempêtes. D’abord longue de 1 800 mètres, la promenade Marcel Proust est aujourd’hui la plus grande d’Europe avec 3,6Km de long. Elle relie le Hôme Varaville à Dives sur mer.

Estivales hippodrome de Cabourg (du 05 juillet au 30 août)

estivales de l'hippodrome de Cabourg 2016

Chaque mardi et vendredi soir pendant l’été (De 19h00 à 23h00), auront lieu des courses en nocturne, dans le cadre des Estivales de l’Hippodrome. De nombreuses animations seront proposées. Des concerts, des feux d’artifice, des soirées à thèmes… Bref, un programme de festivités sans équivalent sur la côte normande. 

Entrées gratuites disponibles à l’Office de Tourisme

Voir plus

Le festival du film romantique de Cabourg

le festival du film romantique de Cabourg

Le Festival du film de Cabourg se déroule à Cabourg au mois de juin. Le festival fut créé par Gonzague Saint-Bris en 1983. Le trophée remis aux Lauréat est nommé le Swann d'or, en référence à Marcel Proust.
Dans la section des Journées romantiques, un jury composé de personnalités du monde du cinéma décerne le "Grand Prix du Festival du film de Cabourg" pour un long métrage inédit. Un jury composé de lycéens de la Région décerne le "prix de la Jeunesse". Un jury composé de professionnels du cinéma et de cinéphiles, décerne des prix pour les courts métrages. 

Voir plus

Activités sportives et divertissements à Cabourg

Cabourg, les activités sportives
  • Un hippodrome
  • Un minigolf 
  • Un golf (Cabourg-Le Home)
  • Un club de voile
  • Un club de char à voile
  • Une piscine
  • Un circuit de karting

Cabourg-Balbec et Proust

Marcel Proust, Cabourg lieu d'inspiration

Cabourg-Balbec, terre de guérison mais aussi d’inspiration pour Marcel Proust qui y a laissé à jamais gravée son empreinte.
C’est son asthme sévère qui le conduisit pour la première fois à Cabourg. Il y séjourna ensuite chaque été de 1907 à 1914. L'auteur loge au Grand Hôtel dans une petite chambre avec l’électricité, le chauffage central et une isolation phonique.
Ce Grand Hôtel le fascine. Il écrit "à l’ombre des jeunes filles en fleurs”, où il y décrit Cabourg sous le nom de Balbec. 

Recherchez votre Hôtel en Normandie

Où se trouve Cabourg ?